

NEWS

For Immediate Release February 13, 2014

Contact: Drew Biondo 631-451-4776 / biondodr@sunysuffolk.edu

Debate Team Tops, National Championships Next!

The Suffolk County Community College Michael J. Grant Campus Speech and Debate Team took home seven trophies at the 2014 New England Forensics Championship at Boston's Suffolk University last week and four team members qualified for the national tournament later this year. Suffolk topped Emerson College and Bridgewater College for the third place overall team title.

Debate Team Vice-President Nick Alleyne took first in Informative Speech and third in the Impromptu category, which earned him a spot at the national championships in both categories. Felipe A. Espitia Cetina placed second in Impromptu and will also be heading to the national event. Cetina is also a Suffolk County Community College Student Trustee.

Amanda Koscik, public relations officer, placed first in the Prose category, while teammates President Jacqueline Pusey placed fifth and Treasurer Amanda Yodice, fourth; Secretary Nicholas Krauss—in his first forensics tournament—drew third, and Faseeha Naeem, secured the top spot, and a first place trophy. Krauss and Naeem will compete at the national championship in the Persuasive category. Jaqueline Pusey is making a repeat appearance at the national championships, this time in the Persuasive category after appearing last fall in the Dramatic Interpretation slot.

Assistant Professor of Communications and Faculty Advisor Christopher Holfester said, the Michael J. Grant Campus Speech and Debate Team has won three national championships and twice won the New York State Championship since 1999 and former team members are now college professors and attorneys.

The team will compete again on February 22 and 23⁻ at the Emerson/Lafayette Swing at Emerson College in Boston.



Suffolk County Community College's Michael J. Grant Campus Speech and Debate Team from left, Sarah Urf, Faseeha Naeem, Felipe A. Espitia Cetina, Amanda Koscik, Jacqueline Pusey, Nick Alleyne, Amanda Yodice and Nicholas Krauss.

###